Tel: 1 (905) 634-3848

Text: 1 (905) 906-3848

Purveyors of Authentic Militaria

eMedals-Vatican. An Order of St.Gregory the Great, Grand Cross, Civil Division, c.1920

Item: M0103-5

Vatican. An Order of St.Gregory the Great, Grand Cross, Civil Division, c.1920

Sale Date: December 16, 2019 Hammer Price


View Bid History

Not available.

Vatican. An Order of St.Gregory the Great, Grand Cross, Civil Division, c.1920

(Ordine Equestre di San Gregorio Magno). Instituted on 1 September 1831 by Pope Gregory XVI. Civil Division. A Grand Cross Set of Insignia comprising a badge: a finely enamelled red Maltese Cross with ball finials in silver gilt, surmounted by a green enamel laurel wreath with bow also in silver gilt, obverse centre on a nice enamelled bright-blue background superposing by a central figure of St. Gregory the Great in silver gilt, surrounded by gilded ring bearing the Latin inscription S. GREGORIUS MAGNUS (St. Gregory the Great), the reverse medallion exhibiting the inscription PRO DEO ET PRINCIPE (For God and the King), encircled by bearing inscription GREGORIUS XVI. P. M. ANNO I., reverse of wreath suspension maker marked TANFANI BERTABELLI with a large A, measuring 57mm (w) x 87mm (l - inclusive of wreath suspension), on its full length watered silk ribbon, measuring 815mm (l - folded at center), very fine condition. Accompanied by the Star of the order: An eight-pointed faceted star in silver, each arm composed of a cluster of five individual rays, obverse centre consisting of a red enamel Maltese cross with ball finials, centre medallion is blue and portrays Saint Gregory, surround inscribed “S. GREGORIUS MAGNUS,” encircled by a silver beaded edge, centre reverse features a vertical pin assembly with dual stays, measuring 81mm (w) x 85mm (l), reverse centerpiece has been replaced, all rays tarnished at ends, enamels intact, very fine condition. Set accompanied by a button rosette, measuring 11mm (diameter), with metal clasp measuring 17mm in diameter, lightly soiled.


Footnote: This Order was founded by Pope Gregory XVI, and it was originally conferred upon Catholics who exhibited zeal for the Catholic faith, and loyalty to the Vatican. The Order is named for Pope Gregory I, also known as Pope Gregory the Great, who held the office from 590 to 604. The I Class Grand Cross may also be known as the Grand Cross Breast Star. Until 1905, the Grand Cross grade was restricted to 30 recipients.

Back To Top