Tel: 1 (905) 634-3848

Text: 1 (905) 906-3848

Purveyors of Authentic Militaria

eMedals-Sweden. An Order of the North Star in Gold, Commander, by C.F.Carlman

Item: EU16564

Sweden. An Order of the North Star in Gold, Commander, by C.F.Carlman

Sale Date: March 25, 2019 Hammer Price


View Bid History

Not available.

Sweden. An Order of the North Star in Gold, Commander, by C.F.Carlman

(Kungliga Nordstjärneorden). Instituted in 1748. Type II with Ball Finials. In 18K Gold with blue, white, red and green enamels, measuring 55.5 mm (w) x 79 mm (h) inclusive of its crown suspension, intact enamels, on a full-length neck ribbon, extremely fine. In its hardshelled case of issue, maker marked "C.F. CARLMAN STOCKHOLM" on the white satin-lined and padded inside lid, raised platform with a red felt recessed medal bed, light scuffing and wear on the exterior, case better than very fine.


Footnote: The Order of the North Star (AKA Order of the Polar Star) is a Swedish order of chivalry created by King Frederick I on February 23, 1748, together with the Order of the Sword and the Order of the Seraphim. Until 1975, it was intended as a reward for Swedish and foreign "civic merits, for devotion to duty, for science, literary, learned and useful works and for new and beneficial institutions". Its motto is, as seen on the blue enameled centre of the badge, "Nescit Occasum", a Latin phrase meaning "It knows no decline". This is to represent that Sweden is as constant as a never setting star. The Order's colour is black. This was chosen so that when wearing the black sash, the white, blue and golden cross would stand out and shine as the light of enlightenment from the black surface. The choice of black for the Order's ribbon may also have been inspired by the black ribbon of the French Order of St. Michael, which at the time that the Swedish order was instituted, was also awarded to meritorious civil servants.

After the reorganization of the orders in 1975, the order is only awarded to foreigners and members of the royal family. It is often awarded to foreign office holders (such as prime and senior ministers) during Swedish state visits. It is also awarded to junior members of royal families who would not qualify for the more prestigious Royal Order of the Seraphim. It is awarded in five classes: Commander Grand Cross (KmstkNO: the badge on a collar (chain) or on a sash on the right shoulder, plus the star on the left chest); Commander 1st Class (KNO1kl, the badge on a necklet, plus the staron the left chest), Commander (KNO, the badge on a necklet), Knight 1st Class (RNO1kl/LNO1kl, the badge on a ribbon on the left chest) and Knight (RNO/LNO, the badge on a ribbon on the left chest).

Back To Top