Tel: 1 (905) 634-3848

Text: 1 (905) 906-3848

Purveyors of Authentic Militaria

eMedals-Japan, Empire. Four Medals & Awards

Item: W6085

Japan, Empire. Four Medals & Awards

Auction 7 days/22 hours/52 minutes left
Number of bids 0
Initial Price $45
Current Price $45
Final auction price

Your Bid

It will be added to the current price

Buyer's Premium 

Enter Your Secret Max Bid 

Enter $46 or more

Current Bid

What's a max bid?

Your maximum bid should be the highest amount you're willing to pay for an item.

Your entered maximum bid will not be disclosed to the seller or other auction participants at any point.

Max bidding example:

If the current auction price is $100 dollars and you place a maximum bid of $120 dollars, the system will bid $101 dollars on your behalf.

If no other participant places a bid, you win that auction lot for $101 dollars.

If another auction participant places a bid of $110 dollars, the system will subsequently place a bid of $111 dollars on your behalf. The system will continue to bid in $1.00 dollar increments until your maximum bid of $120 dollars is exceeded.

If another auction participant places a bid for $125 dollars, the auction lot price will display $121 dollars having exceeded your previously submitted maximum bid by $1.00 dollar.

0 bids |
7d 22h left (December 21, 4:03PM EST)
Japan, Empire. Four Medals & Awards

Order of the Rising Sun, VIII Class (instituted in 1875, in silver, measuring 31 mm (w) x 33.5 mm (h) inclusive of its laterally-pierced ball suspension, original ribbon with hook and eye); 2600th National Anniversary Commemorative Medal 1940 (instituted in 1940, in bronze gilt, measuring 30.5 mm in diameter, original ribbon with hook and eye); and two Japanese Red Cross Society Medals (Nippon Sekijujisha): Instituted in 1888: Men's Membership Medal (in silver, measuring 29.2 mm in diameter, without ribbon); and Women's Life Membership (in aluminum, measuring 29.2 mm in diameter, pale blue rosette on its original bow-tied ribbon with pinback). Ranging from better than very fine to extremely fine.


Footnote: The Order of the Rising Sun is a Japanese order, established in 1875 by Emperor Meiji of Japan. The Order was the first national decoration awarded by the Japanese government, created on April 10, 1875 by decree of the Council of State. The badge features rays of sunlight from the rising sun. The design of the Rising Sun symbolizes energy as powerful as the rising sun in parallel with the "rising sun" concept of Japan ("Land of the Rising Sun"). The order is awarded to those who have made distinguished achievements in the following fields: international relations, promotion of Japanese culture, advancements in their field, development in welfare or preservation of the environment. Prior to the end of the Second World War, it was also awarded for exemplary military service. Beginning in 2003, the two lowest rankings (7th and 8th classes) for the Order of the Rising Sun were abolished, with the highest degree becoming a separate order known as the Order of the Paulownia Flowers, with the single rank of Grand Cordon. While it is the third highest orderbestowed by the Japanese government, it is however generally the highest ordinarily conferred order. The highest Japanese order, the Order of the Chrysanthemum, is reserved for heads of state or royalty, while the second highest order, the Order of the Paulownia Flowers, is mostly reserved for politicians. The 2600th National Anniversary Commemorative Medal was instituted on July 27, 1940 and awarded to those involved in organizing, conducting or participating in the celebrations in November 1940 of the 2600th anniversary of the founding of the Japanese Empire by the legendary Jimmu Tenno in the year 600 BC. The forerunner of the Japanese Red Cross Society, the Hakuaisha (Philanthropic Society) was founded in 1877 by Court Tsunetami Sano, to help those who were wounded in the Satsuma Rebellion earlier that year. Japan signed the Geneva Convention in 1886 and in the following year, the Hakuaisha changed its name to the Japanese Red Cross Society (Nippon Sekijujisha). It was recognized as such by the International Committee on the Red Crosson September 2, 1887. The medal was established in 1888 and comes in five classes: Member, Special Member, Life Member, Golden Special Member and Honorary Member.

Back To Top